St. Joseph's-Alexander McKay Elementary

Staff Directory

This staff list is for the 2022/2023 school year (SJAM at 1589 Walnut Street).

Communication between home and school is extremely important. Calls and emails sent to staff members will be returned within two business days.

Teaching Staff

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
Young, Nakeah Grade Three/Four 902-493-5180 NYoung@hrce.ca Twitter
Wright, Jonathan Resource 902-493-5180 jwright@hrce.ca
Thornhill, Heather Reading Recovery/Early Literacy Support 902-493-5180 HThornhill@hrce.ca Twitter
Thakkar, Rebecca Grade Primary FI (January - June) 9024935180 RThakkar@hrce.ca
TBA, TBA Grade 5/6 English 902-493-5180
TBA, TBA 50% Learning Centre Teacher 9024935180
Tattrie, Atanda Grade 3/4 FI 9024935180 Atanda.Tattrie@hrce.ca
Swinamer, Claire Grade Primary FI 902-493-5180 CSwinamer@hrce.ca Twitter
Samaha, Jessica Grade Primary FI (Sept-Dec) ext. 9024935180 jessica.samaha@hrce.ca
Sabean, Scarlett English as an Additional Language (EAL) 9024935180 bsabean@hrce.ca
Ruttgaizer, Carla Resource & Learning Disability Teacher 9024935180 CRuttgaizer@hrce.ca
Purdy, Sarah Grade Two/Three FI 902-493-5180 spurdy@hrce.ca
Odlin, Rhianna Grade Primary 9024935180 Rhianna.Odlin@hrce.ca
O'Leary, Mark Music & Instrumental Music 902-493-5180 mark.oleary@hrce.ca
O'Connor, Paulette Grade Six 902-493-5180 poconnor@hrce.ca Twitter
Mott, Katie Grade Two/Three 902-493-5180 kmott@hrce.ca Twitter
McLay, Allison FI Resource & FI Early Literacy Support (APL) 9024935180 AMcClay@hrce.ca
McKenzie, Katelyn Grade Five/Six FI 902-493-5180 katelyn.mckenzie@hrce.ca Twitter
MacNeil, Cheilidh Grade One 9024935180 Cheilidh.MacNeil@hrce.ca Website
MacLellan, Cody Physical Education 9024935180 ext. 9024935180 Cody.MacLellan@hrce.ca
Lucas, Hayley Physical Education 902-493-5180 Hayley.Lucas@hrce.ca
Lipsit, Jessie Grade 1 FI 902-493-5180 JLipsit@hrce.ca
Liiva, Colleen Speech Language Pathologist 9024935180 CLiiva@hrce.ca
Knapton, Kass Learning Centre Teacher 9024935180 LKnapton@hrce.ca
Hauser, Angela School Counsellor 902-493-5180
Goss, Mallory Grade 4/5 FI 9024935180 Mallory.Goss@hrce.ca
Goldberg, Rebecca Learning Centre Teacher 902-493-5180 rgoldberg@hrce.ca
Dobbelsteyn, Julia Grade 1 FI 9024935180 JDobbelsteyn@hrce.ca
DeWare, Tanya Grade Five 902-493-5180 tdeware@hrce.ca Twitter
Deware, Natalie Math Support Teacher 902-493-5180 NDeware@hrce.ca
Darwish, Heather Grade Two FI 902-493-5180 hdarwish@hrce.ca
Currie, Megan Grade One/Two 902-493-5180 Megan.Currie@hrce.ca
Cameron, Grace Core French 902-493-5180 Grace.Cameron@hrce.ca
Jennings-DeBaie, Anne APSEA Interpretor 902-493-5180 Anne_Jennings@apsea.ca

Administration

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
Woodbury, Patricia Acting Vice Principal 902-493-5180 PWoodbury@hrce.ca Twitter
Harrison, Sandy Secretary 902-493-5180 SHarrison@hrce.ca
Gorman-Tolliver, Cheyanne Acting Principal 902-493-5180 CGorman-Tolliver@hrce.ca Twitter

Support Staff

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
Walter, Trevor African Nova Scotian Student Support Worker 902-493-5180 TWalter@hrce.ca
Steeves, Sharon Schools Plus Assistant Leader 902-219-3668 ssteeves@hrce.ca
Sampson, Scott Caretaker 902-493-5180
Rozee, Sarah Educational Program Assistant 902-493-5180
Richards, Anita Educational Program Assistant 902-493-5180
Petrie, Loraine Educational Program Assistant 902-493-5180
Pellerine, Stephanie Educational Program Assistant 902-493-5180
McNutt, Brenda Schools Plus Community Outreach Worker 902-233-4395 BMcNutt@hrce.ca
MacDonald, Lynn School Social Worker 902-483-3740 lynn.macdonald@hrce.ca
Jones, Reese Child & Youth Care Practitioner (CYCP) 902-493-5180
Johnson, Marie Educational Program Assistant 9024935180
Hiles, Johnny Educational Program Assistant
Fletcher, Raquel Educational Program Assistant 902-493-5180
Dewolfe, Beverley Educational Program Assistant 902-493-5180
Cromwell, Johanna Educational Program Assistant 902-493-5180
Aulenback, Andrew Librarian 902-493-5180 aaulenback@hrce.ca

Band

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
O'Leary, Mark Grade six band 902-493-5180 mark.oleary@hrce.ca

Strings

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
Ioannou, Victoria Grade Four-Six Violin 902-493-5180 victoria.ioannou@hrce.ca