St. Joseph's-Alexander McKay Elementary

Staff Directory

This staff list is for the 2021/2022 school year (SJAM at 1589 Walnut Street).

Communication between home and school is extremely important. Calls and emails sent to staff members will be returned within two business days.

Administration

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
Hunt, Amy Principal 902-493-5180 hunta@hrce.ca Twitter
Gorman-Tolliver, Cheyanne Vice Principal 902-493-5180 CGorman-Tolliver@hrce.ca
Harrison, Sandy Secretary 902-493-5180 SHarrison@hrce.ca

Teaching Staff

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
Berghuis, Matthew Grade Five FI 902-493-5180 PBerghuis@hrce.ca
Cameron, Grace Core French 902-493-5180
Carroll, Beth Grade 1/2 FI 902-493-5180
Currie, Megan Grade 1 English 902-493-5180
Darwish, Heather Grade Two FI 902-493-5180 hdarwish@hrce.ca
DeWare, Tanya Grade Four/Five 902-493-5180 tdeware@hrce.ca Twitter
Dobbelsteyn, Julia Grade 1/2 FI 9024935180
Eagle, Carrie Learning Centre Teacher 902-493-5180 ceagle@hrce.ca Twitter
Firlotte, Margaret 50% Early Literacy Support and 50% Reading Recovery 902-493-5180 MFirlotte@hrce.ca Twitter
Lipsit, Jessie Grade 1 FI 902-493-5180
Lucas, Hayley Physical Education 902-493-5180
MacKillop, Ashley Learning Centre Teacher 902-493-5180 AMacKillop@hrce.ca
McKenzie, Katelyn Grade Six FI 902-493-5180 katelyn.mckenzie@hrce.ca Twitter
Mott, Katie Grade Two/Three 902-493-5180 kmott@hrce.ca Twitter
North, Amy Grade Four FI 902-493-5180 anorth@gnspes.ca
O'Connor, Paulette Grade Six 902-493-5180 poconnor@hrce.ca Twitter
O'Leary, Mark Music 902-493-5180 mark.oleary@hrce.ca
Purdy, Sarah Grade Three FI 902-493-5180 spurdy@hrce.ca
Swinamer, Claire Grade Primary FI 902-493-5180 CSwinamer@hrce.ca Twitter
TBD, TBD Guidance Counsellor 902-493-5180 jmoshett@hrce.ca
TBD, TBD ECE Lead Teacher (Pre-Primary) 902-493-5180
Thakkar, Rebecca Primary FI 902-493-5180
Thornhill, Heather Grade Primary 902-493-5180 HThornhill@hrce.ca Twitter
Tully, Paige French Immersion Resource & Early Literacy Support 902-493-5180 PTully@hrce.ca Twitter
Wright, Jonathan Resource 902-493-5180 jwright@hrce.ca
Young, Nakeah Grade Three/Four 902-493-5180 NYoung@hrce.ca Twitter

Support Staff

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
Fougere, Jennifer Acting Schools Plus Assistant Leader 902-483-8367 jfougere@hrce.ca
Aulenback, Andrew Librarian aaulenback@hrce.ca
Cromwell, Johanna Educational Program Assistant
Dewolfe, Beverley Educational Program Assistant
MacDonald, Lynn School Social Worker 902-483-3740 lynn.macdonald@hrce.ca
McNutt, Brenda Schools Plus Community Outreach Worker 902-233-4395 BMcNutt@hrce.ca
Pellerine, Stephanie Educational Program Assistant 902-493-5180
Petrie, Loraine Educational Program Assistant 902-493-5180
Richards, Anita Educational Program Assistant
Rozee, Sarah Educational Program Assistant
Steeves, Sharon SchoolsPlus Assistant Leader 902-219-3668 ssteeves@hrce.ca
Walter, Trevor African Nova Scotian Student Support Worker TWalter@hrce.ca

Band

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
O'Leary, Mark Grade six band 902-493-5180

Strings

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
TBD, TBD Grade Four-Six Violin 902-493-5180